And I Didn't Even Use Tarot Cards

Remember way back when, when I did that little rant for a Round Table about difficulty? And how I was playing Assassin’s Creed and the original Uncharted at that time, and made the following prediction?:

Two games I’m currently playing are Assassin’s Creed and Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune. I’m not particularly far into either, but even so, I can tell you which game I will get completely through and which one I will not. (Hint: it’s the one with an easy mode!)

Guess what game I STILL haven’t finished, and will resort to watching on YouTube in preparation for the sequel?

Here’s hoping Assassin’s Creed 2 doesn’t end up being as impossible as the first one was for me.

6 thoughts on “And I Didn't Even Use Tarot Cards

  1. Well, with that attitude . . .

    although I think I remember you saying you wouldn’t finish Bioshock either but you finished that, so maybe I’m wrong.

    The problem with Youtube clips is that I haven’t seen anyone treat the game as interactive narrative: people pacing back and forth incessantly during cut-scenes, moving the camera awkwardly, etc. Really takes you out of the scene, whereas Ubi wants you to remain immersed but also somewhat meta because this is, afterall, the animus. When I was working at Game Invasion that was my number 1 priority when capturing AC footage. If done right the ability to control the angle and minor aspects of the cut-scenes makes it that much more immersive and meaningful.

    • lol!

      I got through Bioshock because it had difficulty settings =)

      I admit I am one of those pacers. Weirdly, sometimes I would do it because I was trying to “act” as Altair, as if I were directing the scene or something. But other times I was just bored XD;;

  2. I don’t think punishing difficulty is the antithesis of easy mode. In the original article you speak to your preferences, specifically the narrative ties you find necessary to really get into a game. This is a preference, one I tend to share, but not as exclusively as I think you are saying you do. I like a game to ask me to do something I can’t do from time to time and I don’t get as much of a bad feeling from it.

    Uncharted, much like its sequel, is more movie then game. This is not only fun but also exactly the kind of game that appeals to you. Assassin’s Creed is in some parts sticky (I wouldn’t call anything you do in AC “hard”) but the goal is for a more experiential feel. Ubisoft wants you to want to be Altiar, not follow push the story forward as they do with Nathan.

    If the game needs an easy mode for you to enjoy playing it then so be it, but from what I’ve read it’s more the type of the game the existence of a “make bullets hurt less” button. Maybe I’m wrong (probably).

    • Yeeeeah, my problem with Assassin’s Creed isn’t the type of game it is (I enjoyed the majority of it!) but the fact that the difficulty curve simply involved throwing more and more guards at me. This tested my patience. I had no trouble staying alive, but when I’m asked to take a half hour to kill 50 guards to save a citizen or monk in order to progress, I’m just not going to do it.

      An easier difficulty would throw less guards at me, allowing me to progress without wanting to tear my hair out.

      And I strongly disagree that Uncharted is more movie than game. Care to elaborate?

  3. Really? I found Assasins Creed to be pretty easy, finished the main story of the game in two days, It’s alot of fun but very short….I hope Assasins Creed 2 will be longer (I’m waiting for pc version)

    I’m able to deal with the guards fairly easily using counter kills but when you get holed in with almost an army of guards to fight through it does become a bit of a slog…even if they’re not to hard to get rid of….

    • As I said above:

      I had no trouble staying alive, but when I’m asked to take a half hour to kill 50 guards to save a citizen or monk in order to progress, I’m just not going to do it.

      An easier difficulty would throw less guards at me, allowing me to progress without wanting to tear my hair out.

      The “difficulty” comes from the tedium, not from it actually being difficult.

Leave a Reply

